Promise?

Standard

Hand in hand, we walked up the steps of my New York apartment, preparing to say our good bye sweet talk to each as we ended our date.

“You really impressed me tonight.” Johnathon said, breaking the silence between us.

I stepped up onto the top step of the stairs and made a one-eighty back to him. Even when I’m standing at the top of the stairs, he’s still taller than me as he stands on the third step.

“Oh yeah? I tend to have that effect on people. Stick around and you might be even more impressed.” I winked at him.

That crooked smile slowly revealed itself behind those full lips. “Can’t compliment you without boosting your ego, can I?”

I giggled and wrapped my arms around his neck, pulling him closer to me. “Of course, you can. But I can’t guarantee everything.”

He playfully rolled his eyes. “I had a great time again. I hope we do continue.”

I titled my head, giving him the ultimate puppy dog look. “And why wouldn’t we?”

A grimace quickly replaced his smile . “You know what I’m referring to. Are you really serious about this?”

I bat my eyes at him. “Of course, I am. Why would you even doubt me? We’ve been together how long?”

He rolls his eyes again, looking away.

“Hey,” I grab his chin and force him to look at me. “I was just playing around. I know what you’re talking about and I told you. I haven’t done anything dangerous.”

He raises an eyebrow. “Promise?”

I quickly peck him on the lips. “Of course. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to catch up on some much needed rest. This date took all my energy!”

He relaxed his posture and drew me in closer. We kissed good night and said our good byes for the meantime. I entered the apartment, checking to make sure Johnathon fully left before closing the door. Turning on the light, I dropped my purse on the couch and walked to my bedroom to check my laptop for any notifications I may have. Tapping the mouse pad to revive the sleepy laptop, the screen lit up brightly, displaying 3 messages:

Jenna: Group meeting. 2 AM. Central Park.

Zavier: Burglary on Houston and 6th. Need backup.

Tiana: K, need u! Where r u?!

Man, a girl can’t even enjoy a night out without messages galore. I strided across the room to the closet, searching my top shelf for my suit. As corny as this sounds, yes, I have a suit. Touching a familar velvet box, I grab it and lay it on the bed. Opening it, the black suit teases me with all its glory after being left in its home for a week. Sorry Johnathon, but I can’t ignore my destiny. I replace my clothing with the suit, pop the box back in its place, and open the window. Whether or not, Johnathon will ever understand why I do this, doesn’t matter anymore. I am not a vigilante. I save lives. I peer out the window, admiring the city lights that illuminate the night sky all around. But there’s no time to waste. New York City needs me.

Leave a Reply

